T20 World Cup 2024 – Interesting features, announcements and venue

t20 world cup 2024

T20 World Cup 2024

The most recent iteration of the T20 World Cup took place in October of 2022, where England emerged victorious in the ultimate showdown by defeating Pakistan in the final match.


The 9th edition of the T20 World Cup, scheduled to take place in West Indies and America, has been planned to commence on June 4th, with the highly-anticipated final set for June 20th. According to ESPNCricinfo, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has finalized the Future Tour Program, indicating that the T20 World Cup 2023 will also be held in June of the following year. The previous edition of the tournament was held in 2022 in October, with England emerging victorious after defeating Pakistan in a thrilling final encounter. Unfortunately, India was eliminated in the semi-finals of that tournament.

According to the report provided by the website, a delegation from the International Cricket Council (ICC) recently visited the five venues that have been shortlisted in the United States. This visit took place within the current week. These shortlisted venues have been selected to host a significant international cricket event, marking the first time such an event will take place in the country.

Among the chosen locations are Morrisville, Dallas, and New York, as well as Lauderhill in Florida, which will host both tournament matches and warm-up matches. It is worth mentioning that the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024, which will feature 20 teams, will be jointly hosted by the West Indies and the United States, and matches will be played across a total of 10 venues in these countries.

The upcoming tournament will feature a grand total of 20 participating teams. These teams have earned their spots through the regional qualifiers conducted by the ICC. Amongst the teams are Ireland, Scotland, and Papua New Guinea, who secured their positions just this week. In addition to them, the tournament will also include renowned cricket teams such as Australia, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, West Indies, and the USA. This comprehensive list showcases the growing diversity and international appeal of the sport.

12 teams had already qualified for T20 World Cup 2024 even before the regional qualifiers. West Indies and USA get direct entry as they are the hosts. Apart from them, eight teams – Australia, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka – qualified for World Cup by virtue of being the top 8 teams at 2022 T20 World Cup. Afghanistan and Bangladesh qualified on the basis of their current T20 International rankings.

The ICC had earlier announced that the format for the 2024 T20 World Cup would be different from the previous editions in 2021 and 2022. During the 2022 T20 World Cup, teams moved to a Super 12 format after the first round. However, the T20 World Cup will feature 20 teams divided into four groups to qualify for the Super 8s. After qualifying for the Super 8s, teams will be further divided into two groups.

What to expect?

According to a report from ESPNCricinfo, the upcoming T20 World Cup in 2024 will feature a revised format compared to its previous two editions. In this new format, a total of 20 teams will be participating, and they will be divided into four groups, each consisting of five teams. During the initial stage, the top two teams from each group will progress to the next phase known as the Super 8s. In the Super 8s round, the remaining teams will be divided into two groups, with each group consisting of four teams. By the end of this phase, the top two teams from each group will advance to the semi-finals.

According to The Guardian, cricket has been included among the nine sports being considered for the LA Olympics, alongside baseball, flag football, lacrosse, breakdancing, karate, kickboxing, squash, and motorsport.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button